Further heartbreak…

Screen Shot 2013-08-19 at 00.32.20

People talk about image fatigued when it comes to images of conflict. And I’m one of them…loads of photographers become a cliche and it gets very hard to related to such tried and tested images of War, Conflict – guys with guns. I believe photos like this engage and communicate a hell of a lot more and if I were a conflict photographer I would spend my days focused on the human adaption to war creating story after story on the periphery. Capa and his ‘close enough’ tag is often interpreted to getting in there and following guys with guns …I reckon, as the late Tim Heatherington said – to witness is not enough anymore – and for me, with the use of multimedia, or at the very least audio slides shows a way to go about documenting whats happening to tell a truthful story is to be close enough to the periphery.

Leave a comment